## Beta Phi Mu International Library and Information Science Honor Society

## Epsilon Chapter Annual Meeting Minutes May 7, 2015

The Epsilon Chapter of Beta Phi Mu met for its 2015 dinner and initiation ceremony on Thursday May 7, 2015 at Mediterranean Deli in Chapel Hill, NC.

Initiation: After a half-hour social, President Emily Jack began the initiation ceremony at 6:45pm. VP/President Elect nominee Lisa Gregory, Secretary/Treasurer nominee Dawne Lucas, and 2009 initiate Kendra Allen served as ceremony speakers. Seventeen new initiates were inducted. Erin Holmes, Hsi-Yen Chen, Sophia N. Lafferty-Hess, and Jessica Streck Ortolano were in attendance. Initiated in absentia were Megan Nicole England, Kate Elizabeth Weber, Robert Correll, Brittany M. Hayes, Wan-Ching Wu, Julia Grace Feerar, Tisha S. Woo, Anna D. Sandelli, Heather Ryan, Carla Yasmin Davis-Castro, Madeeha Khan, Dawn T. Dvorak, and Meredith McClure-Scott.

Awards: President Jack recognized Laura Pavlech as the Achievement Award recipient in absentia.

**Dean's Report:** Dean Gary Marchionini reported SILS has reached an enrollment plateau, with a 2015 graduating class of 130, while the 2008 graduating class had 240 graduates. The undergraduate program has grown and the MSIS program is stable. Dean Marchionini encouraged attendees to recruit for the program personally; he believes that the personal touch is more effective than marketing. He reported that SILS is doing well financially in spite of cuts and hasn't had to lay anyone off. Dean Marchionini concluded by saying that the field of library and information science is in danger of losing its best candidates.

**Secretary/Treasurer's Report:** Secretary/Treasurer Kimberly Hirsh reported the Operating Budget is sufficient and the Scholarship budget is healthy. She passed out copies of the 2014 meeting minutes and Treasurer's report report.

**Election of Officers:** The chapter elected a new Vice-President/President-Elect and a pair of new members in as Co-Secretary/Treasurer. Members received biographical information about Lisa Gregory, the VP candidate and Dawne Lucas and Christine Stachowicz, the Co-Secretary/Treasurer candidates. There were no nominations from the floor and the candidates were elected by acclamation.

**Keynote Speaker:** After dinner, Vice President John Blythe introduced Terrell Russell. Russell is a Data Management Research Scientist at the Renaissance Computing Institute (RENCI). Russell led the group in an interactive discussion about the future of data management including current trends, relevant nearterm technologies, industry and discipline effects, governmental and regulatory effects, and consumer effects.

**Closing:** President Jack made a few closing remarks and then passed the gavel to incoming President John Blythe. New President Blythe adjourned the meeting.

Minutes prepared by Kimberly Hirsh.